Love and Politics

I have been finding it super difficult to actually even meet another person who is half as interested, or even has the same political mind frame as myself. I often wonder, are there other people like me?

The problem is, there are so few people my age interested in politics, and if they are, the’re probably a liberal. My generation was and is so taken with Obama. I’ve had many conversations with people, and the main question I ask is “why did you vote for him” or “what reasons did you have to vote for him.” The answers are always the same. I get a lot of “I’m not really sure” and “I truly believe in change (now its forward).” They lack specifics, I even had a fellow worker the other day tell me she could not remember why she voted for Obama. She then got defensive of my “why” question and told me not to talk to her about politics.

Sometimes guys who talk to me will act more interested then they are just to get a date, but eventually you learn how discover what people know. I’m twenty-three and have gone through several relationships. They have all been short lived. To be frank, they get sick of me and I get sick of them. I can only spend so long talking with someone who does not know what I’m talking about and cannot understand why I’m so interested. It’s often taboo to them.

The society I live in, the town I live in, is so women in control. There is a serious lack of strong leader men.  I’ll give a little credit to the feminist movement for that one, and I’m telling you, this is what I personally see day-to-day.  I often find myself having the best conversations with men in their 50s and 60s because they know about common worldly affairs, and I’m always thinking, man, if only there were younger people like this, and where the heck is my John Wayne.

I’ve talked to people that feel politics and love life should be separate. Maybe that works for them, but with what I know, it would never work for me. I study and research and learn what I can because I want to help preserve the morals and values of the men that founded this country. I want people to know that freedom needs to be protected, and actions speak louder than words Mr. Obama. Israel needs to be protected and remain a strong ally. It was Dwight D. Eisenhower who said “Politics ought to be the part-time profession of every citizen who would protect the rights and privileges of free people and who would preserve what is good and fruitful in our national heritage.” I have to say, I could not agree more.

So, finding compatibility between love and politics, well I’m sure I will. It may take longer then I like, but like the great evangelical DL Moody said, “Faith makes all things possible…love makes all things easy.”

Leave a Reply

